Daily Prompt : A Friend in need

My closest friend is ….The love of my life.

401135_10151637502730280_1165373612_n

He is the strongest man I know, he has a heart of gold, total southern gent , loving father, devoted to Our Lord, still is handsome as can be, a day doesn’t go by that he doesn’t make me smile….and he has loved me for over eleven years. The heart wants what the heart wants and after ten years of being apart fate brought us back to one another.

Some how some way he has tamed my quick temper……I guess he was right when he would say “Take the emotion out of it and talk to me when you are ready to talk”. Of course this didn’t make sense to me at first …..but now it does and believe me, it works. We seldom argue because of this. Don’t get me wrong we have our tiny moments but that’s what they are …tiny…..and if he was in the wrong he will come to me with tear filled eyes and tell me that he is sorry. I see the love in his eyes and I know that he is truly means it. It takes a real man to fully humble himself and admit his wrong.

I can go on and on but I don’t want to bore you with all the sappy stuff…. I have written several posts about him so I will leave it to you if you want to read all the lovey gushy stuff.

I will say this in closing; when I saw this Daily Prompt I was conflicted ……. although, I instantly thought of my husband, I also thought about someone else……so I may be breaking some Daily Post rule but here I go.

My (2nd) closest friend is someone who I have known for 33 years. …..I couldn’t stand her for a good 15 years of those 33…..but she grew on me. She’s sweet, hard-working, a devoted wife and mother …..she definitely has many “blonde” moments but I love her even more after each and every ditsy mishap…..I guess the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree though, because she’s my sister and I have been known to have some “blonde” moments myself. ….just ask my husband.

I never thought growing up that she would become such an important part of my life considering I would shut her out of my room, hated that she was (and still is) my parents favorite, couldn’t stand why she got the skinny gene when I struggle with my weight…..I simply  never wanted her to be around me while I was a teenager. It wasn’t until she was in college that we started to become friends……. she looked upon me for advice and I was happy to give it. At times I had wished that I had an older sister who could help me through a broken heart or give me advice regarding a difficult decision but being her older sister it was my job to help her avoid making the same mistakes that I did while growing up.

There isn’t a day that goes by that we don’t communicate either by phone or text message, even if it’s for a brief few minutes or quick text stating that we would call when we get a chance……and come to think of it I haven’t talk to her yet this morning…..so with that I will let you go and call my sis!!

sis

My sister and her husband

15 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : A Friend in need

  1. Your post about your husband is really convicting. Years ago (that makes us sound old, but we aren’t), my wife and I would lift up each other like you did your husband. Things have slowly been changing, and it worries me because those days are gone. I am so happy for you, though.

    • Convicting…bad?? Convicting good?? hahaha I don’t want this post to sound bad….sorry if I am having just one of my blonde moments..haha

      My husband has shown me what it’s like to be in a “grown up” mature but also fun loving relationship….it’s refreshing.

      Thank you

  2. Pingback: My closest friend is… | 3rdculturechildren

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Friend in Need | 4 The Sensitive

  4. Pingback: Is Your Conscience Your Best Friend? | Joseph Rathjen - Freelance Writing Services and Blog

Leave a comment