Moral Compass

moral-compass

 

Daily Prompt: Morality Play

Where do your morals come from — your family? Your faith? Your philosophical worldview? How do you deal with those who don’t share them, or derive them from a different source?

I would have to say my source to the creation of my moral compass would be from the lessons I have learned in the triumphs and failures throughout my life and of course my faith in God. Many may ask, “what about your family?” and I would calmly reply that I have spent twenty years trying to not be like my parents, not to say that they are horrible people but I  just don’t see eye to eye with them…….but no where does it state that I have to believe what they believe nor do I have to behave like them.

I have my own thoughts and beliefs just like everyone else. I believe strongly in “Do onto others as you would have them do unto you”. This has been instilled in me as a young girl growing up Catholic; have I always practiced this?…….honestly no, sometimes pride won over humility………sometimes I took it word for word and through the years if someone hurt me (mentally or physically) I hurt them back, words can be just as damaging as the physical act….was this right? No.

My faith, although at times questioned has played a role in who I am today. I believe in God and I believe that he is our savior. What I don’t understand is how others will judge me and belittle me behind my back because I don’t practice to THEIR liking…….Do I go to church every Sunday? No. Do I pray? Yes. Do I thank God for the giving me another day to breathe his air and enjoy his creation? Yes. Do I have to Facebook and tweet my church goings and visits to the confessional to prove to the judgemental “Christians” that I am in deed walking in the way of the Lord, maybe so…….but I won’t; because my relationship with the Lord is my own and the only one who is to judge me is him….not those who have their own questionable moral compass.

6 thoughts on “Moral Compass

  1. Pingback: There Is Something Beyond YOU | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: The Moral Of The Story | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Family, Faith and Freedom | Vivir, que no es poco

  4. “Though shall not judge” comes to mind. People can hurt you with words or even their fist but they cannot control your thoughts and believes, that is all yours in life. Also, you can pray to God, from anywhere, about anything and not only will He hear you, but He will also be pleased and overjoyed that you have come to him. Pray for those that judge and belittle because that is the only way that you can help them. Live right and do right because we are all here to set an example for one another but most importantly pray because it is through pray that we all as individuals find peace and in the process help those in need of spiritual growth.

  5. Pingback: GLASS SLIPPERS | hastywords

Leave a comment