Honey….she followed me home

deer

Last night when I got home I did what I normally do….I said hello to my furkids, I let them out to go potty …normally I will change out of my work clothes …..but yesterday was different, instead of changing out of my work clothes I went back outside to bring in the trash can and check the mail, as I was heading back up the drive way I heard a very faint “meow”…thinking it was one of the neighbors cats, I looked around to see which one was trying to get my attention “meow meow”…a cute little calico cat was crossing the street making its way towards me. I started meowing back and forgetting all about the trash can and diverted my attention to this cute little kitty that I only saw one time before; which was last week.

I motioned the kitty to follow me into the garage where I have a kitty dish set up for the neighbor cat, she followed and made her way to the dish where she spent a good while filling her belly. As she ate, I became concerned….she was eating as if she hadn’t eaten for days and we had such horrible weather lately. Then I remembered that I did see her a week ago by our new neighbors home, so maybe she was theirs. I ran inside, changed…..and went next door to see if they lost a kitty, no one was home. Shit, it was getting dark….and I wasn’t going to just let her go wonder the neighborhood. I quickly messaged my husband to let him know that we were temporarily going to house a kitty until the neighbors got home.

Forty minutes went by until I saw our neighbors come home, I grabbed the kitty and headed on over. “Uhmmm excuse me, did you lose a cat?” I asked.  The man turned around and instead of relief on his face he said “no, we don’t own a cat…we have a dog…cute cat though”.  I headed back home with the kitty in my arms, now wondering what the hell I was going to do…..there was no way my husband was going to let us have another pet. He always makes it clear to me in one way or another that three furkids is just enough for us……. I can’t say “Honey…she just followed me home”…yes she technically did, she did  cross the street and follow me up the drive way and into the garage…just maybe word got out amongst the cats that “the Jolene lady” is really cool and gives out really good kitty treats and that’s why she’s here seeking a newer better home.

I just knew that my husband was going to be home within the hour and I had to have a solution to the new arrival so I sent out a mass text to my co-workers asking them if they wanted an adorable kitty. I called our local vet, they suggested that I put a picture of her on their facebook page to see if her owner would claim her. Meanwhile…..I decided that the kitty couldn’t stay in the garage so I made her a nice comfy spot in our office and brought her inside.  BOY OH BOY…did the furkids give me some questionable looks.

I knew my husband wouldn’t be mad that there was a cat in the house, he loves animals…..I just knew that he would expect me to handle it the next day and he knew that I was working on the situation. Ten minutes after he got home, he asked where the kitty was and I pointed to the office…..he walked in slowly and I followed.

“she’s adorable and so loving” I told him.

“ohhhh she is” he said. I could tell that he took an instant liking to her and her to him….she knew how to work it…she was working the purrings and playfulness.

We left the kitty alone, we would tell she wanted to sleep….but as the night went on my husband kept mentioning how if we can’t find her owners than we can keep her. Then he looked at our furkids and said,

“Now Lily…Dart…Sami, you have to be nice to her…she’s smaller than you and she’s scared….she’s going to be your cousin, you are going to have to teach her the rules of this house”…..as he went on talking to our furkids about our possible new addition I couldn’t believe that I was worried or a little panicked….at the end of the day, he’s a softy too. I grabbed my phone and sent out a text to my co-workers “hmmmm …. hubby seems to be loving the kitty, we may have a new furkid!!”

I left it up to him to name our Little Orphan Annie ….  as of right now he has come up with

1. cuddles (from the big bang theory)

2. sgt. fuzzy boots (from the big bang theory)

3. manziel  (Johnny Manziel)

Kitty

Personally… I like

Zazzles …if we are going after something from the Big Bang Theory

or …

Annie

But…… he called me and put me on speaker phone with his co-workers, I guess it’s a slow day at the office and naming the kitty is priority. He asked what was wrong with Cuddles and I said …

“Honey, she doesn’t look like a Cuddles….plus, when you take her to the vet and they call out her name it’s just going to seem silly”

“I don’t take the furkids to the vet you do” he said

he got me there….but still…..

“Sgt Fuzzy Boots is cool …but would we call her Sarg for short or fuzzy or boots?” I said….there was laughter in the background.

“haha we will talk about this when we get home, I love you” he said.

………….to be continued.

 

7 thoughts on “Honey….she followed me home

  1. Oh my gosh!!! What a cute kitty!
    I like Annie!
    I maintain! Cats find cat lovers. My family and I adopted four cats when I was a child, all at different times pretty much.
    I loved this post!!!! So happy kitty is safe and warm! Thank you!!!

  2. Pingback: A bittersweet birthday weekend | Valley Girl Gone Country

Leave a Reply

