Daily Prompt : Close Call

Yesterday as I was pulling out of my driveway I grabbed my phone and made a call to my daughter; as I made my way to the end of the street I put her on speaker phone. I started to talk to my daughter while I inched closer to the stop sign, but there to the left of me was a police car.

“Shit….Ann l gotta go”

As I spoke those words, the police car drove slowly in front of me.

“uhhh what?” my daughter asked.

“Shit….the cop just saw me on my phone I’m soooo getting a ticket!!”

I sat at the stop sign for a few seconds….took at deep breath and turned onto the street awaiting my fate. “shit, I’m going to hear it when I get home…I’m never going to live this down”  as I turned the corner I was expecting to see  flashing lights but nope, the police car was a half a mile away.

“What ….. How is that possible, I know he saw me?” I said to myself. If this happened in California the police officer would have turned on his lights as he crossed my path and probably would have made hand gestures to motion me to pull over and that he indeed saw me on my cell phone.

Later that night I told my husband what happened. “I thought using your cell phone was banned throughout the United States?” I asked, he assumed the same thing…..but I guess here in Arkansas it’s a different story.

Per the DMV for Arkansas

Cell phone use is banned for all drivers under 18. Drivers 18 and older, but younger than 21, are banned from using hand-held cell phones while operating in school and highway work zones.

Unless it’s an emergency, school bus drivers aren’t allowed to use cell phones, including hands-free versions, while driving a school bus.

All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from texting.

So there you have it……That’s why Mr.Policeman kept driving.

Daily Prompt: Close Call

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : Close Call

  1. Well, that was lucky! I have such a hard time trying to talk and drive that I never do it. I don’t know how I used to do it at all. Lol, I get too confused 😊

    • I don’t have a problem with having the person on speaker phone while I drive……….BUT……if the traffic is hectic I will disconnect the call because I won’t be able to focus.

  2. Pingback: The Train On The Track | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Return of Cloud Capture Monday: A Close Call | Light Words

  4. Pingback: It’s a war zone around here! | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Close Call | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Close |

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Close | Lostinthot

  8. Pingback: Close call… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  9. Pingback: By God’s Grace and Mercy | A Short A Day

Leave a Reply

