Could you live without your cellphone or video games for a day??

images (6)

I remember back in the day when my form of entertainment was my own imagination, I would conjure up worlds that I could escape to. Dawn and I would pretend to be princesses awaiting our knight in shining armor, other days we would  threaten preach to the neighborhood kids that being Catholic was the way to go (some hidden agenda from the nuns in our dot to dot Jesus coloring book, I assume) and hold church in our backyard, yes we made host out of Wonder bread. Go figure! We put on plays to entertain our family and friends. My playhouse would one day be a drive through diner and the next a school house, where I was the teacher and my sister and her friends were the students. Outside was everything to my friends and I, it’s where we could be kids …. plus, the less time inside meant I wouldn’t find myself getting in trouble.

This morning I was speaking with my sister, “This Saturday is going to be a tech free day”…. “a what?” I asked. She told me that as she looked around her house last night, she noticed that her husband was on his cell playing a game, the kids were playing video games and she was busy facebooking. “We are always on our phones and the boys would rather play video games then enjoy a beautiful fall day”.

We discussed how things have changed since we were little and that her idea was awesome. “Kids need to step away from video games and be shoved outside…but I have a feeling they won’t know what to do” I told her. “I told the boys to go ride their bikes or play hide-n-seek and they said it was too boring” she replied. I remember how riding bikes was NEVER boring, although if my parents KNEW that we rode around San Fernando Valley for hours they probably would have had a conniption fit…but yet again, times were different then….and an ice cream truck WAS just an ice cream truck, not some perverted old man asking kids if they wanted a drumstick and he wasn’t talking about ice cream.

“I don’t know if I will make it, my phone is attached to me” my sister said. “I think I would have an issue with giving up my Nook, I’m always on it…..reading or checking WordPress…..keep me posted!!”

So I guess I will find out how things went on Sunday ….. I think it will be good for my nephews….a little fresh air never hurt anyone, well unless they live in Southern California during a very smoggy day.

Would you be able to be tech free for a day….no cellphone, no computer,no video games, no nook? 

PlayOutside

13 thoughts on “Could you live without your cellphone or video games for a day??

    • ME TOO…it’s hard for me to stay away from WP….I’m always wanting to read what others have written and to see if anyone has comments or liked my posts… haha

      • Hahaha! Same here.

        This probably sounds extremely nerdy, but whenever I get an idea for a blog post, I’ll write like a 3-sentence draft on my mobile WP. Lol

  1. Absolutely! I am famed amongst my friends for constantly being ‘uncontactable’ because I love turning off my phone and ignoring the world! Luckily for us, we live in a beautiful part of England, where the children spend their days fishing, climbing and hiking. I wouldn’t want my son to miss out on any of it for the sake of a computer game!

    • Of course…..its vital that we don’t miss out on anything….knowing my luck I would miss the twitter feed that Jennifer Aniston is in fact pregnant and had a shot gun wedding in Vegas!

  2. I couldn’t do without the cell phone – it’s pretty much always attached to me and if it’s not near me I have a mini panic attack until I can find it. Tech-free day is not for me!

Leave a Reply

