Daily Prompt: Ballerina, Fireman, Movie Star

When I was 7 I aimed small…..really small….for whatever reason I wanted to be a frog. Maybe I admired the free spirit of this small green creature; but as time went on I became fascinated by the job that this one woman held. I watched in awe how she would handle every situation that came to her with grace. Yeah, there were times she got herself in some sticky situations with Stefano, then there was that Devil possession, several romantic relationships, and we can’t forget the serial killer story line…..but when she wasn’t all tangled up in happenings of Salem, she portrayed herself as the go to psychiatrist helping others with their problems, giving them solutions that of course made everything better!!

marlana

“That’s what I want to be when I grow up” I said to my mom.  “You want to be a soap opera star?” she replied. “No I want to give people advice and tell them what to do”, I knew I would be great!!  “Maybe you should be a lawyer, you like to argue your case all the time” my mother replied….never once turning her head away from the television set.

As years went on it was in the back of my mind that this was what I was going to do, I was going to be the best psychiatrist San Fernando Valley, Ca ever saw!! …needless to say, God had a different plan for me. I became a mother at 17, wife at 18 and life as I knew it changed and my dream to become a psychiatrist was no longer a priority I now had a family to tend to.

I still offer advice,  listen intently to those that just need to vent and I lend a shoulder when it’s needed, but I do this because I’m a friend. I’ve sat on quite a few therapist couches in the day to absorb the lessons, advice and books that they wanted me to read as “homework”…..sometimes these books were more helpful than they were……but now I find myself in the medical field but not as a Doctor or a Nurse but as a Patient Advocate; I couldn’t ask for a better job!!

Click here to read others Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Ballerina, Fireman, Movie Star

    • hahaha NO KIDDING!!! Do you know Stefano is still lingering around Salem?? I don’t watch it anymore but there are times I’m curious and will tune in if I am off…..I can only take 2 minutes of it. Still a crazy show…same story lines with a bit of a twist!!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt:”to sleep perchance to DREAM.” | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture

  2. Pingback: My top five things I want to be when I grow up… | My Top Fives...

Leave a Reply

