Daily Prompt : Is it all in the numbers?

Picture 051

I started this blog because I love to write and it has also been a way for me  just to free myself from all that is going on up in this brain of mine. At first I wasn’t to concerned with checking my stats, I really didn’t pay too much attention to the blue columns going up and down or who was viewing my blog and where they may be from. What got my attention was the orange star that would illuminate every time someone “liked” my blog….. I admit it, I kinda felt like Sally Field when she accepted her Oscar and said “you like me you really really like me”…….I know, a little dramatic it’s only an orange star right?  wrong…..hahahaa…. and then after a while I noticed that my blog was being viewed by fellow bloggers in different parts of the world. It was amazing……………then I was hooked!!  I try not to become stat obsessed, I see my numbers and I do see the columns rise when I conjure up an interesting post but I can’t help the tiny little burst of happiness that I get when I see that little star in the corner light up.

Today’s Daily Prompt asks us to go to our Stats page and check our top 3-5 posts and write why we  think they’ve been successful? Find the connection between them, and write about it.

The top five  although different aren’t full of some philosophical mumbo jumbo, heck I think people would see right through that. My posts are honest, sometimes witty and truly from the heart. I am bringing you into my everyday life sharing the good, the bad and the ohhhh sooo funny moments of it….the present and the past.

1. Honey,Lily is a little moody…you kept her up last night. 

2. The Weekly Photo Challenge – Nostalgic 

3. Daily Prompt: Keep Out

4. True friends tell it like it is …. please stop this nonsense

5. Baby got back 

To find out more about todays daily prompt click here : Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : Is it all in the numbers?

  1. I’m the same, I started blogging to release the craziness in my head, get thoughts off my brain which get me low and down. I feel when somebody likes my post it means they understand in some way xXx

  2. Pingback: How To Utilize Blog Stats! | Joseph Rathjen - Freelance Writing Services and Blog

  3. Jolene, we ALL love immediate satisfaction…and those “likes” and “comments” and “followers” and even “reblogs” get us going…keep us motivated! Blogs fulfill some very basic “human needs.” So, as long as, they are healthy needs, we can continue to get “jazzed” with successes!

    Have a super fantastic, and like, really cool day…
    Christian 🙂

  4. Pingback: A good headline and people’s kindness | Life is great

  5. Pingback: Make The Connection | Edward Hotspur

  6. I love too to see the orange signs light up top left… another person leaving a comment on my blog, replying to a comment I made on their blog… as you have to be interested in others to attract interest and curiosity to yours… or liked a post that i’ve written… Yes it gets quite exiting all these new people I meet and I believe we can all help each other… just by reading and being here…. listening in a way… after all we are all important people in our own right… so its like being an audience to each other… Yes I like that thought….

    Enjoy your journey… after al its what we make of it.. Barbara

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt – The Stat Connection – 22nd July | Joe's Musings

  8. Pingback: The key to success | Sue's Trifles

Leave a Reply

