I want to have a book hangover….suggestions welcomed!

books

I spent hours on the Barnes and Nobles website yesterday trying to find a book that will suit my fancy. I came across a few that seemed interesting until I downloaded the sample on my Nook and realized quite quickly that it bored me. I like a book that will grab my attention right off the bat…..yes, I understand that I should give it sometime and maybe by chapter two things will get better, but I hate waiting for the hook…..I like to be knee-deep in a good story, one that I can’t stop thinking about during the day and one that I will read until my eyes become to weary to even focus on a word.

So I am asking you my fellow blogger friends for some assistance…………Can you PLEASE suggest some of your all time favorite books!!

What are you currently reading???

ohhhh and I enjoy all types…..well maybe not ALL types I really don’t get into Westerns.

Thank You!!!

26 thoughts on “I want to have a book hangover….suggestions welcomed!

  1. That’s a tough question without knowing your preferences in genres, etc. For what it’s worth, here are a few of my favorites:

    Letters From Hawaii (also originally known as Letters From the Sandwich Islands) by Mark Twain.

    A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

    The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield

    I have many more, but I have a hunch they may not be the kind of books that would grab you. Speaking of which, I’d be honored if you gave my novel a whirl – the toughest chapter to write and re-write was the first – you can see the first 2 1/2 chapters on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C8WN53W

    I’m quite happy with how the first chapter turned out, even though I know the story builds, and I’d say it’s around the end of chapter 2 or 3 before it takes on a rhythm of it’s own.

    Finally, if you’re also interested in non-fiction, well that’s a whole other list…happy hunting! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Lawrence…..

      I enjoy pretty much all types of books…..you can’t judge a book by its cover right?? I will check out your book for sure…..is it available through Barnes and Nobles? just so I can download it on my Nook…..if not I will go to Amazon.

      Thank you for the suggestions I will give them all a shot!!!

      • Hi Jolene. Thanks for checking it out. Right now it’s only on Amazon and Kobo. As a Canadian, I can’t independently sell my book on Nook, unless I have a U.S. bank account. There is an option to use a third party such as Smashwords, but I’m not sure about that yet.

        Apparently a lot of people are suddenly buying Nineteen Eighty-Four. I haven’t read that since high school. If you want a book that will really make you think – an entirely different view of media – my suggestion is Marshall McLuhan’s Understanding Media – The Extensions of Man.

        The subtitle (The Extensions of Man) is really something in the context of the digital age. The relevance is remarkable, given that the book was first published in 1964.

  2. I don’t know what sort of books you like, but I recently finished a book called Just Listen and absolutely loved it and it hooked me from the start.

    I hope you find a great book. πŸ™‚

  3. Last year I loved The One Hundred Year Old Man (Jonas Jonasson) and this year I liked Wait For You by J Lynn – hope one of these appeals!

  4. Well… drawing a blank at the moment except to say I really loved the Dark Tower series by Steven King and the Mode series by Pierce Anthony. But of course I have to love my own books too. I published two of them this year under two different pen names: Dream Lover, a paranormal romance written under my usual pen name of Ampbreia Weiss (http://www.amazon.com/Dream-Lover-Ampbreia-Weiss/dp/1482628171/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1372727477&sr=1-1), and Lost in Foreign Passions, 2nd edition, my memoir of life in Iran, conversion to Islam, escape from both, and the loss of my first born son, written under my former married name of Debra Kamza (http://www.amazon.com/Lost-in-Foreign-Passions-ebook/dp/B00BNBWDL4/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1372727733&sr=1-1). The first edition was badly done by a bad publisher. The 2nd one is the best and includes lots of pictures. Both Dream Lover and the 2nd edition of Lost in Foreign Passions are available both in print and on Kindle and both have the “Peek Inside” function so you can read the first chapter or two for free. I love it when books have that function on Amazon. It’s saved me from many a dud.

    • Thank you for your suggestions……I downloaded Dream Lover last night!!
      Yes, the peek inside function is awesome……..it’s a total money saver!!

    • I laughed when I read the title…….I certainly need to read this book because at times when I’m on the back of my husbands bike I really need to feel peace instead of panic!!

      • It’s a fabulous book. I read it every couple of years and buy it as a gift for people. It might not be your cup of tea but I can’t recommend it highly enough.
        If you do read it let me know how you liked it (or not). x

        • ohhh I will check it out…..it seems like it could be a very interesting book. When I told my husband about it he gave me a confused look and said “I don’t get it”……hahahaha……..MEN.

  5. Im currently reading the Game of Thrones, completely time-consuming. If you’re interested in sci-fi, I just read 2001 A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke and it was amazing! Some other suggestions in YA are Everneath series by Brodi Ashton, The Diviners by Libba Bray, Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout, Divergent series by Roth etc.

    Happy reading! I can never decide what to pick up too, that’s why i’m always juggling a few books at once. (i get soo moody) πŸ˜‰

  6. I’ve had that very same issue with trying to find good books to read. I can’t remember the last time I read one that riveted me. Good luck, and if you find a good one let us know.

Leave a Reply

